Register or log in:

Farming Friends Forum » Introductions

Hello I'm new!

(31 posts)

1. Cas

Hi I've joined this in the hope that I can learn more about farming and see if anyone has any ideas of how i can get involved. I have no experience but would love to gain some hands on experience / (hopefully) help someone at weekends perhaps! I'm a bridle maker by trade so being stuck behind my bench I'm dying to get back to the great outdoors!

Posted 8 years ago #
  2. Hi Cas, Welcome to the farmingfriends forum. I live on a farm in East yorkshire. My husband is a farmer but I would say I am more of a smallholder myself as I keep poultry - hens, quail, guinea fowl and ducks. I did keep pigs until last year. The farm has about 100 beef cattle and we grow arable crops, wheat, barley, beans, oil seed rape, oats, sugar beet etc
    Bridle making sounds a very intersting job.
    Kind regards
    sara @ farmingfriends

Posted 8 years ago #
  3. Cas

Hi that sounds idylic! Did you come from a farming background to start with or learn as you went along? I am in touch with a guy who works in nottingham who works on a farm, certainly opened my eyes to how hard farmers work. This year was my trial at growing some veg which went quite well i'm pleased to say!
    I have a shed in the garden where I work from home doing leather work which is nice especially in summer as we've got sheep in the field beyond our garden! There's going to be some sheep dog trials there this weekend which i'll be watching.
    Do you show your cattle?
    Best wishes Cas

Posted 8 years ago #
  4. sallie

Hi Cas, Welcome to the forum. I have dogs, quail and horses. I work the dogs on a local shoot and have the quail for their eggs. Lovely to hear from a bridle maker. do you make custom bridles?
    Sallie

Posted 8 years ago #
  5. lisamaslen

Welcome cas,