Register or log in:

Farming Friends Forum » Geese

hatching goslings, help

(21 posts)
  • Started 6 years ago by sbandres
  • Latest reply from sarah farmer

Tags:

1. sbandres

I am a teacher and have done this for many year. However, this year I have a goose egg that's been peeping and wobbling since Thursday. It finally pipped I believe Friday afternoon. It has two small pips and it's still wobbling and chirping, but less. should I help it or wait until it's further along. I know they take forever to hatch, but I'm worried it will die before it can get out. It is now Sunday morning. Any advice will help! Thanks, sarah

Posted 6 years ago #
  2. Mama

Sarah, I think it is time to step in as it has been longer than usual. Try to very gently peel away a bit of the membrane and a little bit of the shell just to let the beak out so it can breathe. Wait a while and see what happens after, you may have to moisten the membrane with a little tepid boiled water as it drys so quickly .Let us know what happens and good luck Mama

Goose Girl
    Posted 6 years ago #
  3. sbandres

thanks Mama! I just peeled back a dime sized part of shell and he seemed to come to life. I'm giving him a little more time on his own as he is trying now, but I will continue to help him along too. I'll keep you posted!
    Sarah

Posted 6 years ago #
  4. Mama

Great, Hope it is out by tomorrow ,you may have to give it a bit of sugar water on the beak just to make it a little stronger. Fingers crossed for gosling and you . Mama

Goose Girl
    Posted 6 years ago #
  5. sbandres

I have a gosling! I helped him out a bit but he came out pretty full of energy. He had part of the egg sack around his little neck and he's very slimey. I'm not sure if I should wipe him down or what. He's trying to stand and is moving around already so he seems pretty strong! YAY!

Posted 6 years ago #
  6. Mama