Register or log in:

Farming Friends Forum » Ducks

When do ducks start to lay again after raising a family?

(11 posts)
  • Started 6 years ago by duskhunter
  • Latest reply from campbell ridge

Tags:

1. duskhunter

I have two ducks sitting currently a khaki campbell on eight and a runner on about 14 and another lot of eggs as yet unclaimed of 17.

It seems the 17 eggs are a collection of two ducks that came together Cayuga x Aylesburys as I have seen both ducks lay there. This morning 2 eggs were warm. I want to let nature takes its course as I am fascinated to see the behaviour of the ducks but Ray says in a moment we won't have any eggs if all the ducks start to sit.

He is right of course and we don't want a lot of babies but I wonder what would happen if I left the eggs, will the pile reach a potential 28 eggs if both ducks lay 14, and if so who would sit or would they both sit in turn?

I am new to female ducks so when do they start to lay again after having brought up a family?

Posted 6 years ago #
  2. campbell ridge
    Administrator

I would suggest -if you haven't done so already, that you mark the eggs with the date they are laid. If they are still adding eggs to their nests, can you be sure they are still mating with your drake in order for them to be fertile? Once they are seriously sitting they will not lay anymore and only come off the nest 2-3 times a day for food, water and poop!

As for the unclaimed 17 eggs I personally would remove them as clearly that is too many for one duck to raise and no one is interested in brooding them. If they haven't been out in the rain, do the floating freshness test on these and use them as normal.

Sarah L
    Posted 6 years ago #
  3. Pastordot

As you might recall from my current post of the "Strange Nesting", I had two Blue Swedish ducks laying in a nest in my yard.