Register or log in:

Farming Friends Forum » Introductions

Hi from Hampshire

(30 posts)

Tags:

1. anitopia

Hello all, have to say this looks a great forum with lots of information.

Sadly i do not have any livestock but i do help out on two smallholdings. One is mainly goats (50+) which are for cheese and meat but there are also a few chickens in residence. The other one is much smaller but has a few goats, chickens and ducks plus the beautiful cat.

I have pets also which include 3 dogs, 5 cats, 18 guinea pigs, 2 egyptian mice and four fish. They are all rescues or unwanted pets who have come here to live out the rest of their lives. I foster for a couple of rescues plus the Cinnamon Trust but as you can tell i am not very good at letting them go....ha ha.

I work around my three children and also grow veggies/fruit on my patio and at my recently acquired jungle oophs allotment. From the produce and also the local wild stuff i make jams and chutneys.

My dream would be to have a few chickens and ducks but for the moment it is just a dream but i love reading about yours.

Posted 9 years ago #
  2. Omegaman

Hi Anitopia

You clearly have access to a large range of animals (...18 guinea pigs!!!) I bet that lot keep you busy, but I am sure you will find room for a few ducks at some point.

Nice to see people still using wild berries and fruits in food making. We had masses of damsons, sloes, apples and blackberries in our local fields last year, and no-one else was bothering to pick them. We made jams, chutney and several demi-johns of sloe gin (...purely for social occasions!)

I was interested in your fostering/rescue centre. I would love to do something like that. Do you need any experience or training before a vet or rescue agency would pass an animal to you? In particular, I have always wanted to rescue hedgehogs.

Kind regards
    Ken

Posted 9 years ago #
  3. campbell ridge
    Administrator

Hi Anitopia, Ken